23 May 2006

Winterhouse Writing Awards for Design Writing & Criticism

AIGA Call For Entries
Deadline: June 30, 2006

Winterhouse Writing Awards for Design Writing & Criticism
The Winterhouse Writing Awards seek to increase the understanding and appreciation of design, both within the profession and throughout American life. A program of AIGA, these annual awards have been funded by William Drenttel and Jessica Helfand of the Winterhouse Institute to recognize excellence in design writing and to encourage the development of new voices in design writing, commentary and criticism.

The awards will be given for writing that demonstrates the greatest evidence of eloquence, analysis, perspective, insight and original thinking with regard to furthering a public understanding of design in contemporary culture. Writing that supports the visual expression of a design program or argument is also eligible. Submissions may address any design discipline or form, including, but not limited to, architectural, environmental, fashion, graphic, industrial, informational, interactive, product and strategic. This year’s jury includes Kurt Andersen, Jessica Helfand and Julie Lasky.

This awards program is part of a larger AIGA initiative to stimulate new levels of design awareness and critical thinking about design. The 2006 awards will be presented at the AIGA Design Legends Gala on October 25, 2006 in New York City.

A writing award of $5,000, for a body of work by a writer under the age of 40, is open to critics, designers, educators, historians, journalists and scholars.

An education award of $1,000 is open to design students (undergraduate or graduate) whose use of writing demonstrates extraordinary originality and promise.

Writing Awards